The Academic Excellence Awards

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Seasoned CBC Media Club member, Nicholas Trivella (Form Four) gives his account of the Academic Excellence Awards held on January 28. With photographs by Media Club members Zack Maidwell, David Waters, Ben Evans, Seth van Beek, Keletso Moyo, Zibusiso Ncube Ethan Palermo.

CBC held its annual Academic Assembly last Wednesday awarding colours to the most successful pupils in last year’s Cambridge examinations.

Acting Headmaster, Mr K. Muhomba, stated that excellence was a standard at CBC, this was proven by this year’s remarkable results. He also mentioned that 75% of candidates passed O Levels, an improvement from the previous year when 71% passed. All of the 41s, 86% of 42s, 64% of 43s and 39% 44s passed the examinations, most of the statistics an improvement on last year. Ninety-five of the pupils that wrote AS level exams passed. Art, business studies, design and technology, physical science and English literature all had a 100% pass rate. A Level results was an even greater success in which 97% of the students passed. Subjects with 100% pass rates included accounts, art, biology, chemistry, design and technology, computing, literature and economics. There were no subjects with a pass rate of below 85%.

Following the presentation of blue ties to the award winners, Sizo Ncube gave an inspirational speech on success. He said that you will only succeed if you have courage, determination and the drive to succeed. He also said that you have to work hard and then keep working in order to succeed.

Micheal Lupepe then gave his speech about the importance of education. He emphasized that education was the best weapon to change the world. He gave his appreciations to all the unsung heroes, mainly the teachers for all their effort to help their classes to understand difficult areas as well as parents for their endless support to invest in the future.

The ceremony ended with the singing of the Nation Anthem after which award winners, their parents and CBC staff were invited to a celebratory tea in the Staff Room.

By Nicholas Trivella, Form Four
Photographers: Zack Maidwell, David Waters, Ben Evans, Seth van Beek, Keletso Moyo, Zibusiso Ncube, Ethan Palermo.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s